Nearly 80 SuperUROP students pitched their research to other students, to faculty and to industry mentors at the Dec. 5 research poster session. SuperUROP student Qui Nguyen discusses her work developing an algorithm for a smart phone ap to monitor areas of the body for skin ailments. SuperUROP student Chelsea Finn, left, discusses her work with several industry mentors. Susan Liang's presentation on modeling an annotated dataset on Autism is discussed amongst a group of industry visitors and Prof. Peter Szolovitz, Susan's SuperUROP Advisor. The Dec. 5 SuperUROP poster presentations were of great interest to fellow students and to industry visitors and faculty advisors. Google Undergraduate Research and Innovation Scholar Julianna Mello discusses her research on human population and disease genomics with several fellow SuperUROP students.

"The SuperUROP program has built upon the strong UROP tradition to create a truly unique experience for MIT students. Through its year-long research opportunity, SuperUROP promotes direct interaction with faculty and industry sponsors, cultivates student creativity and professional development, and encourages students to consider the ethical and entrepreneurial aspects of their work. I expect we will see more and more SuperUROP research projects that do not come to an "end" in May, but rather, establish permanent homes in labs, beta-testing programs in industry, or practical applications in the world."

— Susan Hockfield, MIT President Emerita and Professor of Neuroscience

Welcome to SuperUROP!  Meet the students, faculty advisors and industry sponsors and mentors. Learn about the exciting research collaborations made possible by this unique program. Special thanks to our sponsors including individual donors Robert M. Fano, Dinarte Morais and Paul Rosenblum and several anonymous donors.  See the 2013-2014 SuperUROP Sponsors list (pdf) in the 2013-2014 SuperUROP brochure.

Attention Prospective 2014-2015 SuperUROP Students! RSVP for one of the Info Sessions (see poster below). Register by April 1. Full application is due April 15.

SuperUROP 2014-2015 Info Sessions Announcement


SuperUROP sponsor logos